STAR2- Support to Territorial and Administrative Reform

The Government of Albania since September 2013 started implementation of   an administrative and territorial reform aiming the reorganization of local governments units. On July, 31 2014, the Parliament approved the law 115/2014 “On the territorial and administrative division of local government units in the Republic of Albania” reducing the number of LGUs from 384 to 61 municipalities. This law entered into force after local elections held in June 2015, and since then the local government in Albania operates through 61 municipalities, which have assumed the responsibilities and challenges of managing local public matters. This process has benefited from the support of the STAR project.